The Best Lawyers in America©, the oldest lawyer-rating publication in the U.S., has named fourteen Bryan Cave lawyers as "Lawyer of the Year."

 Best Lawyers names a single lawyer in each practice area in each metropolitan area as "Lawyer of the Year." Those honored have received particularly outstanding ratings in the surveys by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.

The Bryan Cave lawyers named 2017 "Lawyer of the Year" include:


James F. Cress - Mining Law

 Kansas City-MO

Robert M. Barnes - Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Irvin V. Belzer - Litigation - Mergers and Acquisitions

Robert J. Hoffman - Litigation - Banking and Finance

Gregory G. Johnson - Securities Regulation

Herbert M. Kohn - Corporate Law


Lawrence G. Scarborough - Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants

 St. Louis

Frederick W. Bartelsmeyer - International Trade and Finance Law

J. Bennett Clark - Litigation - Intellectual Property

Stephen B. Daiker - Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law

E. Perry Johnson - Antitrust Law

Jeffrey J. Kalinowski - Litigation - Securities

Rebecca A.D. Nelson - Litigation - Antitrust

William F. Seabaugh - Securities / Capital Markets Law